The Painter's Wife


The Painter's Wife

For the Spanish brand The Painter's Wife it all began in March 2015, when they found an abandoned dog right in front of their house. The founder, up until then a curator and working in fashion, and her husband, a veterinarian, decided without further ado to adopt it and named it Pepa. Over time they realized how difficult it was to find the right equipment for Pepa, which at the same time suited both their taste and lifestyle.

In January 2016, The Painter's Wife finally decided to launch their own project and develop high quality products that focus on the lifestyle aspect for dogs and their owners. In doing so, they pursue key goals such as sustainable and local production as well as social commitment.

Based in the northwest of the Iberian Peninsula on the Atlantic Ocean, they work together with retailers and local artisans to enable sustainable and eco-friendly production.

The name The Painter's Wife, for that matter, is a tribute to all the brilliant women hidden behind talented artists, many of whom were artists themselves. We find the brand uplifting precisely because of its reference to art. For us, The Painter's Wife's warm colors and designs have a style and aesthetic of their own, with plenty of vintage charm.

The Painter's Wife


The Painter's Wife 

Für die spanische Marke The Painter’s Wife begann alles im März 2015, als sie einen ausgesetzten Hund direkt vor ihrem Haus fanden. Die Gründerin, bis dahin als Kuratorin und im Modebereich tätig, und ihr Mann, ein Tierarzt, beschlossen kurzerhand diesen zu adoptieren und tauften ihn Pepa. Nach und nach stellten sie fest, wie schwer es war, die passende Ausstattung für Pepa zu finden, die gleichzeitig ihrem Geschmack und Lebensstil entsprachen. 

Im Januar 2016 entschied sich The Painter’s Wife schließlich ihr eigenes Projekt zu realisieren und hochwertige Produkte zu entwickeln, die mehr den Lifestyle Aspekt in Bezug auf Hunde und seine Besitzer:innen berücksichtigen. Hierbei verfolgen sie wichtige Ziele wie nachhaltige und lokale Produktion sowie soziales Engagement. 

Gegründet im Nordwesten der iberischen Halbinsel am atlantischen Ozean, arbeiten sie zusammen mit Händlern und lokalen Handwerkern, um eine nachhaltige und umweltfreundliche Produktion zu ermöglichen.  

Der Name The Painter’s Wife ist im Übrigen eine Hommage an all die großartigen Frauen, die sich hinter talentierten Künstlern verborgen hielten, viele von ihnen waren selbst Künstlerinnen. Wir finden die Marke gerade wegen dem Bezug zur Kunst erfrischend. Die warmen Farben und Designs von The Painter’s Wife haben für uns ihren ganz eigenen Stil und eine Ästhetik, die mit viel Retro-Charme punkten kann.